Dean's Advisory Board

The College of Humanities and Social Sciences Advisory Board serves to advise the dean by connecting the university with the world beyond our campuses and providing the college with specialized knowledge and expertise. Board members support the programs and activities of the college and foster continuing relationships among students, faculty, alumni, and friends.

CHSS Dean's Advisory Board Members

Chair: Eric Johnson, MA English '05
Director of Digital Access, Folger Shakespeare Library

Joseph Apa, AIF
Partner and Co-Founder, The Capital Group, LLC

Firas Barzinji, JD '09
General Counsel, Sterling Management Group

Edmund Bedsworth
, BS Economics '88
Senior Program Manager, Serco, Inc.

William Carter, BA Government and Politics '91
Chief Communications Officer
Office of Cable Television, Film, Music, and Entertainment

Roberta Gosling
Principal, Creative Strategies

Nancy Hilliard, BA Economics '90
Co-Owner, Beekeeper's Cottage

Lynn Huggins, Bachelor of Individualized Study '92
Director Human Capital, Panum Group, LLC

Robert Lightburn, MA History '04, CERG College Teaching '11

Nicole Livas, BA Communication '90
Anchor/Special Projects Reporter, 13NewsNow (WVEC)

Allen Lomax, MPA '82

M. Yaqub Mirza, parent BA '00, BA '09
President and CEO, Sterling Management Group

Mika'il Petin, PhD Cultural Studies '16
Chief of Diversity, Equity & Inclusion, All Hands and Hearts

Julie Sandler, BA English '06
Founding Partner, Found & Co

Dr. Alexandra Sims, BA Anthropology '09
Attending Physician, Division of General and Community Pediatrics at Cincinnati Children's Hospital; Assistant Professor, UC Department of Pediatrics

Robert Townsend, PhD History '09
Director Humanities, Arts, and Culture Programs, American Academy of Arts & Sciences

Next Meeting: Spring 2022


The college is grateful for the service and contributions
of our board members emeriti: 

David W. Bartee, MPA '06 Gail A. Bohan, BA '70, MPA '82
George C. Cabalu, BA '92 Randolph W. Church
Dr. Ashok Deshmukh   Nicole A. Geller, BS '86
C. Michael Hincewicz Ian G. Hogg
Michael J. Hoover, MA '81 Jonathan C. Lamb, BA '97
Samantha E. Madden, BS '89 Matthew S. Plummer, BA '00, MS '11
Jennifer C. Shelton, BS '94      Edward M. Staunton III
Stanley E. Tetlow, BS '84
Michael Whitlock, BA '96
John A. Wilburn, MA '76 Jason Reis, BA Economics '93, GIS '17