Faculty recognized for teaching excellence

On May 2, faculty from across Mason gathered—in person—to celebrate excellence in teaching.

The Stearns Center for Teaching and Learning honors Mason’s faculty each spring with the Celebration of Teaching Excellence, which recognizes faculty members nominated by students and by fellow faculty for the quality of their work. Presented by Provost Mark Ginsberg, Teaching Excellence Director Shelley Reid, and other members of the Stearns Center team, the awards were received by faculty members across Mason’s campuses, attesting to the breadth of teaching excellence at the university.

The College of Humanities and Social Sciences is proud to count a number of its faculty among those recognized (unless noted, all photos are by Mark Finkenstaedt).

Four CHSS faculty members were recognized with Teaching Excellence Awards: Cortney Hughes-Rinker, associate professor in the Department of Sociology and Anthropology and director of the Global Affairs program; Haagen Klaus, associate professor in the Department of Sociology and Anthropology and director of the undergraduate program in anthropology; Susan Lawrence, associate professor in the Department of English and director of Mason’s Writing Center; and Kate Sweeney, coordinator of the Journalism program in the Department of Communication.

Courtney Huges-Rinker

Hagen Klaus

Susan Lawrence

Kate Sweeny

Jane Flinn, associate professor in the Department of Psychology and director of the Cognitive and Behavioral Neuroscience program was recognized as a Teacher of Distinction.

Jane Flinn receives an award

Afra Saeed Ahmad, assistant professor, Department of Psychology, and director of Mason’s online Master of Professional Studies in Applied Industrial and Organizational Psychology program; and Graziella Pagliarulo McCarron, assistant professor of leadership studies, School of Integrative Studies, were recipients of Online Teaching Excellence Awards.

Afra Ahmad receives award

Graziella Pagliarulo McCarron receives award

Sherri Ann Huerta, Department of History and Art History, received the Adjunct Teaching Excellence Award.

Sherri Ann Huerta receives award

George Oberle, assistant term faculty with the Department of History and Art History, director of the Center for Mason Legacies, and History Librarian with University Libraries, received the Distinguished Library Faculty Award.

George Oberle receives an award

Kim Eby, Mason’s Vice Provost for Faculty Affairs and Development, recognized the two Mason faculty members honored with 2022 State Council for Higher Education in Virginia (SCHEV) Outstanding Faculty Awards, one of whom is Leah Adams, assistant professor in the Department of Psychology and the Women and Gender Studies program (photo by Shelby Burgess/Strategic Communications/George Mason University).

Leah Adams

Jaime Lester, CHSS associate dean of faculty affairs and strategic initiatives, was enthusiastic about the college's representation among the awardees. "CHSS faculty are known for their dedication to teaching excellence. Each day, they ensure that all our Mason students are challenged, supported, and prepared," she said. "The Teaching Excellence Awards give our entire community an opportunity to recognize the work of these faculty as well as the high standard of teaching excellence throughout the college. Congratulations to all of the awardees!"