David Weisburd Wins Lifetime Achievement Award from the American Society of Criminology’s Division of Policing

by Anne Reynolds

David Weisburd Wins Lifetime Achievement Award from the American Society of Criminology’s Division of Policing

David Weisburd, Distinguished Professor in the Department of Criminology, Law and Society and Executive Director of the Center for Evidence-Based Crime Policy, will receive the Lifetime Achievement Award from the American Society of Criminology (ASC)’s Division of Policing at the Division of Policing’s annual reception and awards ceremony, taking place on Thursday, November 14, in San Francisco.

The Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes a body of work that represents scholarly achievement in the field of policing. It recognizes research developed over the recipient’s career, not a single research project or study. It is a fitting award for Weisburd, an elected Fellow of the ASC and of the Academy of Experimental Criminology. He was a member of the Science Advisory Board of the Office of Justice Programs within the United States Department of Justice, and currently serves on the Steering Committee of the Campbell Crime and Justice Group, the Stockholm Prize Committee, and the Scientific Commission of the International Society of Criminology. He is a National Associate of the National Research Council of the National Academy of Sciences, and served as the Chair of the National Academy of Sciences Committee on Proactive Policing.

Weisburd is the author or editor of more than thirty books and more than 200 scientific articles that cover a wide range of criminal justice research topics, including crime at place, violent crime, white collar crime, policing, illicit markets, terrorism, criminal justice statistics, and social deviance. He was the founding editor of the Journal of Experimental Criminology and is the general editor of the Journal of Quantitative Criminology.  He has received many awards for his contributions to criminology and crime prevention, including the Stockholm Prize in Criminology (2010); the Klachky Family Prize for the Advancement of the Frontiers of Science (2011); the Jerry Lee Award for Lifetime Achievement in Experimental Criminology (Division of Experimental Criminology, ASC, 2014); the Robert Boruch Award for distinctive contributions to research that influences public policy of the Campbell Collaboration (2014); the Sutherland Award for "outstanding contributions to the discipline of criminology" (ASC, 2014); the Israel Prize, generally regarded as the State of Israel's highest civilian honor (2015); the Mentoring Award for “excellence in mentorship in the discipline of Criminology and Criminal Justice” (ASC, 2016); and the August Vollmer Award for contributions to the prevention of crime (ASC, 2017).

"The scientific and social contributions of David’s work on hot spots of crime and place-based prevention cannot be overstated," said James Willis, chair, Department of Criminality, Law and Society.

"On account of his scholarly vision and high-quality research, communities are better positioned to reduce crime and disorder’s harmful effects, while simultaneously being better protected from the clumsy and arbitrary use of police power. He has opened new and exciting pathways for future scholars to explore and has been a rain-maker in promoting the use of scientific evidence to inform criminal justice policy. He is one of the pre-eminent criminologists of his generation and a generous colleague and mentor."

The Division of Policing was launched within the ASC in 2014, with a goal strengthening relationships between police and researchers to improve the translation of research findings into police practice, ensuring that the policing profession consistently uses the best evidence-based science and research to guide its policy and practice. Membership in the Division of Policing is open to all ASC members.