CHSS Faculty Honored for Teaching Excellence

As part of its mission to lead in promoting, supporting, and celebrating educational excellence, Mason’s Stearns Center for Teaching and Learning annually recognizes outstanding teaching by members of Mason’s faculty.  The College of Humanities and Social Sciences shares that commitment to outstanding teaching and is proud of our faculty members who have been recognized by students, faculty and staff for excellence in teaching in 2019.    

Zofia Burr

Zofia Burr, Dean of Mason’s Honors College and a faculty member in the English Department received the David J. King Award. This award honors significant, long-term contributions to the university’s educational excellence, and is named for Dr. David J. King, who served as Mason’s Vice President for Academic Affairs from 1982 until his retirement in 1988. Dr. King is acclaimed for advancing the teaching experience at Mason, a quality embodied in this award.

Wendi Manuel-Scott, of the School of Integrative Studies, and Justin Ramsdell, of the Psychology Department, received a University Teaching Excellence Award, which honors the significant effort underlying course planning, curriculum development, innovative teaching, advising, and student mentoring. It acknowledges the faculty member’s commitment to providing students with meaningful, significant learning experiences, and their success in achieving that goal. 

Sherri Ann Huerta, of the History and Art History Department, was recognized as an Adjunct Teaching Excellence Teacher of Distinction that recognizes the outstanding teaching of adjunct faculty. 

Bill Howell, of the English Department, was recognized as an Online Teaching Excellence Teacher of Distinction. These awards note the significant work that Mason faculty members devote to innovative online course planning and teaching. 

Charlotte Gill, of the Criminology, Law and Society Department, received the SCHEV Outstanding Faculty Award in recognition of her superior accomplishments in teaching, research, and public service. 

We pride ourselves on the teaching excellence of all our faculty members in the college, we appreciate the formal recognition conferred by the Stearns Center and heartily congratulate our colleagues who were honored.