MacArthur Fellows

The College of Humanities and Social Sciences is proud that two of its current or former faculty members are recipients of MacArthur Fellowships.

The fellowships are awarded by the John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation to, via the foundation's website, "talented individuals who have shown extraordinary originality and dedication in their creative pursuits and a marked capacity for self-direction."

The college's MacArthur Fellows are:

  • Edward P. Jones
  • Lawrence Levine

In addition, Deborah Willis, PhD Cultural Studies '03, received a 2000 MacArthur Fellowship for her dissertation on Black photography, undertaken during her doctoral studies at Mason.