Guggenheim Award Winners

The College of Humanities and Social Sciences is proud that eight of its current or former faculty members have been awarded Guggenheim Fellowships.

These fellowships, which recognize individuals who have shown notable promise for  productive scholarship or creative ability in the arts, are awarded based upon a yearly competition. The award was established in 1925 by former U.S. Senator and Mrs. Simon Guggenheim, in memory of their eldest son, who died in 1922. The grants are made for a minimum of six months and a maximum of twelve months, given with the objective of allowing the recipient to work with creative freedom.

The college's Guggenheim Fellows are:

  • Shaul Bakhash
  • Richard Bausch
  • Carolyn Forché
  • Jack Goldstone
  • Mack Holt
  • Sally Keith
  • Seymour Martin Lipset
  • Susan Shreve