CHSS Research Centers

The College of Humanities and Social Sciences is proud to be home to a number of active research centers. The centers serve to organize much of our research and scholarship around specific focal areas and help to foster collaborative research among faculty. College-chartered research centers are chartered or rechartered in accordance with university policy.  


In the 2019-2020 research center review cycle, two new research centers were chartered by CHSS.  

Center for Mason Legacies

In collaboration with University Libraries

George Oberle, Inaugural Director (goberle@gmu.edu)

Watershed Lit: Center for Literary Engagement and Publishing Practice

Debra Lattanzi Shutika, Inaugural Director (dshutika@gmu.edu)


Ali Vural Ak Center for Global Islamic Studies

Peter Mandaville (pmandavi@gmu.edu), Director

Huseyin Yilmaz, Research Director (hyilmaz@gmu.edu)

Center for Advancing Correctional Excellence

Faye Taxman, Director (ftaxman@gmu.edu)

Center for Climate Change Communication

Edward Wile Maibach, Director (emaibach@gmu.edu)

Center for Evidence-Based Crime Policy

David Weisburd, Executive Director (dweisbur@gmu.edu)
Cynthia Lum, Director (clum@gmu.edu)

Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media

T. Mills Kelly, Interim Executive Director (tkelly7@gmu.edu)

Center for Social Science Research

James Witte, Director (jwitte@gmu.edu)

Institute for Immigration Research

James Witte, Director (jwitte@gmu.edu)

Institute for Philosophy and Public Policy

Andrew Light, Director (alight1@gmu.edu)

Interdisciplinary Center for Economic Science (ICES)

Daniel Houser, Director (dhouser@gmu.edu)


As a result of the 2019-2020 research center rechartering review, two centers affirmed their mission as primarily that of community engagement, educational or cultural, and are departmentally situated as of Academic Year 2020-2021.

These two centers join the academic tradition of departmental centers that are community engaged, public service oriented or devoted to research training and education, such as the Center for Psychological Services, the Center for Economic Education, and departmental research labs, research groups or centers.

Center for Health and Risk Communication

Gary Kreps, Director (gkreps@gmu.edu)

Korean Studies Center

Young Chan Ro, Director (yro@gmu.edu)


CHSS researchers are also actively involved in transdisciplinary university institutes and centers for advanced study, including:  

Center for Adaptive Systems of Brain-Body Interaction

Center for Advancing Human-Machine Partnership

Criminal Investigations and Network Analysis

Institute for a Sustainable Earth

Institute for Digital InnovAtion

Institute for Biohealth Innovation