CHSS celebrates 2024 Outstanding Achievement Award winners

by Melanie O'Brien

Civility Star Award recipient Omnia Elgendy (center) poses with colleagues at the 2024 Outstanding Achievement Award Ceremony. Photo by Evan Cantwell

On April 16, seven CHSS faculty and staff were recognized with George Mason University Outstanding Achievement Awards, which celebrate the hard work, dedication, and achievements of Mason’s faculty and staff across several awards categories in support of the university's values and mission.

Congratulations to this year’s recipients:

Adjunct Faculty Service Award recipient Sharrell Hassell-Goodman.
Photo by Evan Cantwell

Sharrell Hassell-Goodman, postdoctoral fellow in the School of Integrative Studies, received the Adjunct Faculty Award, which recognizes a member of the adjunct faculty who displays exceptional commitment and service to the university, its mission, and its students. 

Omnia Elgendy, budget analyst for CHSS, received the Civility Star Award. This award recognizes a role model of integrity, civility, respect, and positive behavior.

Exceptional Support Award recipient Naida Kuruvilla, Outstanding Supervisor Award recipient Kristin Tyburczy, David W. Rossell Quill Award recipient James Willis, and Jade Barricelli Spirit of Advising Excellence Award recipient Jada Crocker at the 2024 Outstanding Achievement Award Ceremony. Photo by Evan Cantwell

James Willis, chair professor in the Department of Criminology, Law and Society, received the David W. Rossell Quill Award. The recipient of this award exemplifies the leadership and dedication of David W. Rossell, who retired from George Mason University in 2007 with over 20 years of loyal service. His devotion to the Mason community focused on leadership, teaching, and fulfilling Mason’s mission.

Naida Kuruvilla, grants and program manager at the Center for Evidence-Based Crime Policy within the Department of Criminology, Law and Society, received the Exceptional Support Award. This award recognizes an individual for their exceptional support to ensure that the functions and operations of the nominee's department run smoothly. The recipient demonstrates quality customer services and identifies, creates, and implements innovative solutions.

Jada Crocker, undergraduate academic advisor in the Department of Criminology, Law and Society, received the Jade Barricelli Spirit of Advising Excellence Award. The recipient of this peer-nominated award, named for former Mason advisor Jade Barricelli, instills in other advisors the need to continually assess how our work will elevate and improve the advising community at George Mason University, and how we can ultimately improve the academic experience of George Mason University students.

CHSS alum Afra Ahmad, recipient of the Mason Faculty Alumni Award. Photo by Photo by Eduardo Macedo

Afra Ahmad (BA Psychology '08, MA '12, PhD '16), associate professor and director of the online Master's of Professional Studies in the Applied Industrial and Organizational Psychology Program, received the Mason Faculty Alumni Award, which recognizes an individual who makes lasting and unique contributions to Mason to enhance the life for faculty, students, and staff, and embodies the mission and values of the university community.

Kristin Tyburczy, undergraduate program coordinator in the Department of Criminology, Law and Society, received the Outstanding Supervisor Award. Sponsored by the Mason Staff Senate, this award recognizes supervisors who most closely meet several criteria, including promote collegiality in the department, be receptive to employee ideas and engage them in the department and/or university goals, promote and model a positive work-life balance, and acknowledge exemplary performance.