AAR invites 2023 Rome Prize applications

Deadline to apply is November 1, 2022

Each year, the Rome Prize is awarded to about thirty artists and scholars who represent the highest standard of excellence. To read the guidelines and begin an application, visit aarome.org/apply/rome-prize.

Rome Prizes are awarded in the following disciplines:

    • Ancient Studies
    • Architecture
    • Design 
    • Historic Preservation and Conservation
    • Landscape Architecture 
    • Literature
    • Medieval Studies
    • Modern Italian Studies
    • Musical Composition
    • Renaissance and Early Modern Studies
    • Visual Arts

This year, AAR will offer the Tsao Family Rome Prize, to be awarded to a humanities scholar whose project explores the relationship between Chinese and Mediterranean philosophical traditions. Please see the humanities guidelines for more information.