Celebration of Achievement 2019

On October 17, 2019 the College held its annual Celebration of Achievement, our signature event designed to honor and recognize our College's dedicated students, faculty, alumni, supporters and volunteers.

This event is also a chance to recognize the impact of our faculty and student research and to share more about the College's vision and direction as it continues to prepare students for civically engaged lives and career advancement across a broad spectrum of careers and a lifetime of opportunities.

This year's event showcased the contributions of the Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media, which is celebrating 25 years of award-winning work developing online teaching resources, digital collections and exhibits, open-source software, and training in digital literacy and skills. Read more about the Center and all award winners below.

Special thanks to our master of ceremonies for the evening, award-winning journalist for WUSA9, Marcella Robinson, BA Communication '11.

View event photos here.

Celebration Awardees 2019Celebration 2019 awardees, John Boal Photography.

Research Spotlight:
Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media

The College celebrated the collective accomplishments of the faculty, postdoctoral fellows, graduate students, and undergraduates who are affiliated with the Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media (RRCHNM), which is celebrating its 25th anniversary. Roy Rosenzweig was the founding director of the Center and set its prescient vision. The Center is now recognized as the largest digital history center in the world. Learn more.

CHSS Senior of the Year

Jordan Burkhardt, BA Criminology, Law and Society '20

Jordan Burkhardt

CHSS Alumni Chapter Student Awards

Reagan Emmerling, BA Integrative Studies '22

Reagan Emmerling

Natalie Schultz, BA Environmental and Sustainability Studies '19

Natalie Schultz

CHSS Volunteers of the Year

Fundraising Committee for the GMU Center for Psychological Services 3rd Annual Fundraiser: Christy Esposito-Smythers, Liz Gavin-PaoRebecca Gibson, Shelley Lawrence, Robyn Mehlenbeck, and Silvia Wold.

The Center serves as the main training clinic for doctoral students in clinical psychology at Mason. Their mission is to train students while offering a range of evidence-based treatment services through a sliding scale fee so that all people in our community have the opportunity for assessment and treatment, regardless of their income. The Center enables access to state-of-the-art therapy sessions, sometimes for as little as ten dollars.

The fundraiser was held at the Fair Oaks Marriott in March 2018 and raised almost $27,000 in a single night, topping the previous year's total of $15,000. Learn more about the Center.

Psyc Clinic Fundraising Group(From left) Christy Esposito-Smythers, Shelley Lawrence, Robyn Mehlenbeck, Liz Gavin-Pao, and Rebecca Gibson. Not pictured: Silvia Wold.

CHSS Philanthropist of the Year

Marion Deshmukh, PhD. Awarded posthumously and accepted by her son and daughter-in-law, Raj and Bernadette Deshmukh.

Marion began her career at Mason in 1969. For 45 years she was a professor of German and European history and art history. She served for 12 years as the chair of the history and art history department, and she also served in the cultural studies doctoral program. In 2010, she was awarded Mason's first Robert T. Hawkes professorship, she received the David J. King Teaching Award in 2011, the Center for Global Education's Academic Excellence Award in 2014, and Mason's faculty member of the year in 2013.

The College offers this award to honor and remember Marion's commitment to other scholars and students and her legacy of extraordinary contributions to our university. Throughout her lifetime, Marion gave over $280,00 to university programs and scholarships and was an inspiration to others to give generously as well. Learn more about her legacy.

Marion Deshmukh

CHSS Distinguished Alumni Awards

These alumni are selected based on professional accomplishments in their field; service and contributions to their department, college, and/or university; philanthropic activities; and enhancement of alumni and community engagement at Mason.

Class of 2019 CHSS Distinguished Alumni


CHSS is grateful for the support of: The Country Club of Fairfax, our pianist and Mason alumnus, John Kim BA Music '16, Burke Florist, and John Boal Photography.