College of Humanities and Social Sciences
College of Humanities and Social Sciences

Research Centers

The College of Humanities and Social Sciences is proud to be home to a number of active research centers. The centers serve to organize much of our research and scholarship around specific focal areas and help to foster collaborative research among faculty. See the Web sites of the centers to learn more about their activities.

Ali Vural Ak Center for Global Islamic Studies

Maria Dakake, Co-Director (mdakakem@gmu.edu)
Huseyin Yilmaz, Co-Director (hyilmaz@gmu.edu)

Center for the Advancement of Well-Being

Nance Lucas, Director (nlucas2@gmu.edu)

Center for Advancing Correctional Excellence

Faye Taxman, Director (ftaxman@gmu.edu)

Center for Climate Change Communication

Ed Maibach, Director (emaibach@gmu.edu)

Center for Evidence-Based Crime Policy

David Weisburd, Executive Director (dweisbur@gmu.edu)
Cynthia Lum, Director (clum@gmu.edu)
 

Center for Health and Risk Communication

Gary Kreps, Director (gkreps@gmu.edu)

Center for History and New Media

Stephen Robertson, Director (srober30@gmu.edu)

Center for Justice Leadership and Management

Stephen Mastrofski, Director (smastrof@gmu.edu)

Center for Social Science Research

James Witte, Director (jwitte@gmu.edu)

Center for Study of Sport and Leisure in Society

David Wiggins (CEHD) and Chris Elzey (CHSS), Co-Directors (dwiggin1@gmu.edu and celzey@gmu.edu)

Center of Excellence in Neuroergonomics, Technology, and Cognition (CENTEC)

James Thompson, Director (jthompsz@gmu.edu)

Institute for Philosophy and Public Policy

Andrew Light, Director (alight1@gmu.edu)

Interdisciplinary Center for Economic Science (ICES)

Daniel Houser, Director (dhouser@gmu.edu)

Korean Studies Center

Young Chan Ro, Director (yro@gmu.edu)

 

 

Print Friendly and PDF